Event Reviews

Here’s All That You Need To Know About The Access Bank Lagos City Marathon 2020

By  | 

The Access Bank Lagos City Marathon is an annual marathon race whereby the entire Lagos is occupied by racers and cyclists from a starting point (National Stadium, Surulere) to the finish line (Eko Atlantic, Victoria Island). The race had its debut in 2016, and Access Bank had always been a consistent sponsor for the event. This year, the event will take place on the 8th of February, 2020.

Several racers from all over the world register to attend this amazing event, and whether or not they’re sports professionals, they always participate. This helps them stay fit and firm, and the physical results would inspire participants of the race to work harder on their fitness strategies. This ‘race for fun’ or ‘race for fitness’ began in the 2018 edition, and families, friends registered together to be able to have fun while they’re at it.

access bank lagos city marathon February 2020

If you haven’t registered, register here on the Lagos City Marathon site. Also, you can either attend as a volunteer or ask a friend who would be there working, so you can join them too and contribute to the services. There are different people that work there– medical professionals, physical therapists, volunteers, cheerleaders and dancers, and so many others. You certainly don’t want to miss the marathon experience, do you? In the previous editions, celebrities, high ranking officials in government and other notable people attended, so definitely, we’re certain that more of them would attend this year.

ALSO READ: “The Legend Of Inikpi” Movie Premiere Was All Glam And Glitz And Here’s The Load Down

Below is a list of previous winners at the Lagos City Marathon per year:

1. Lagos City Marathon 2016 (First Edition)

Abraham Kiptum from Kenya who completed the race in 2 hours, 16 minutes and 21 seconds.

2. 2017

Abraham Kiptum again! He finished the race in 2 hours 15 minutes 20 seconds

3. 2018

Abraham Kiprotich, a French-Kenyean finished the race while setting a new record time of 2:13:04 hours. 

4. 2019

Sintayehu Legese, an Ethiopian, won the race in a finishing time of 2 hours 17 minutes 28 seconds. 

5. 2020

2020 had Kenyan David Barmasai finish the race within 2 hours 13 minutes. He went home with a grand prize of $70,000.

The first female winner was another Kenyan, Sharon Cherop.

Hello there! I'm a writer and web content creator. I write on diverse topics ranging from art to lifestyle, beauty, martial arts, dance, fashion, self-help, recipes and event reviews. Also, I handle the Instagram account for House of Jethro @houseofjethroev. Follow us and get more updates on event tips. Instagram handle: @yinxybelle LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/yinka-owate-65907a126/